If reading this, there is a good chance you might be wondering about the dangers of rice on a gluten free diet. Well, it is worth noting that all rice in its natural form is gluten-free. This includes brown rice, wild rice, white rice, and rice flour. Surprisingly, even Asian or sticky rice, also called ‘glutinous rice’ is gluten-free, despite its name.
Actually, rice is one of the most popular gluten-free grains for people with celiac disease. A good number of gluten-free packaged goods are made with rice flour instead of wheat flour. Of course, there are some instance where rice may not be gluten-free.
Aside from cross-contact, rice can also be made or sold with different spices and sauces that could contain gluten. Since some names might be misleading, you should always take it upon yourself to double check ingredient labels to be sure that what you’re consuming is truly gluten-free.
If having any doubts in mind, be sure to avoid the product or contact the manufacturer to get more information. It is then that you won’t have to worry about putting your health at risk, yet you could have easily avoided it.
It is worth noting that while rice is naturally gluten-free, it can comeinto contact with wheat, barley, and rye during the growing, harvesting and manufacturing process. If possible, you should make it the norm to buy rice that is labeled or certified gluten-free.
Never should you buy rice from bulk bins at the grocery store. After all, cross-contact can easily occur in the bulk bins if other shoppers use the same scoop for both gluten-free and gluten-containing grains.
For those who would love to eat at the restaurant, you need to ensure there are no added ingredients that would make the rice no longer gluten-free. Take it upon yourself to check and see if the rice can be made in its own clean pan so cross-contact doesn’t occur while cooking.
Be sure to research more about the dangers of rice on a gluten free diet and how to avoid them for the goodness of your health.